Skip to Main Content

Artificial Intelligence (AI) for Law School

General Purpose Generative AI Tools

Relevant News Articles

  • AI search engines fail accuracy test, study finds 60% error rate
    By  
    The article from TechSpot discusses a new study revealing that AI-powered search tools provide inaccurate information approximately 60% of the time. The research highlights concerns about the reliability of AI-generated search results, emphasizing that while these tools can be useful, they often produce errors or misleading answers. The study suggests that users should approach AI search tools with caution and verify information from trusted sources to avoid potential misinformation.

Note: Some websites require VPN access.

   

 

Created by DALLE

Check out some relevant tutorials and guides below.

B站最详细Stable Diffusion全套保姆级教程
 

 

Example

Sora: the Al tool that instantly creates video from text

From bilibili

If the video is silent, click on the title and it will redirect you to the video website.

Other Resources

  • Article: The 11 best AI video generators in 2025
  • Website: AI工具集
    该官网专注于收录和推荐国内外热门、创意、有趣、前沿的AI工具和网站，致力于为大家提供一个快速访问任意人工智能网站的门户和入口。我们的目标是让所有人都方便快捷地探索AI技术，让你在个人学习、生活和工作中充分利用人工智能的潜力。

1. Full-Track Music Generation

  • Soundraw: AI-generated royalty-free music with customizable style, mood, and tempo. Ideal for video soundtracks or creative inspiration. The free version has some limitations.

  • Boomy: User-friendly tool for generating electronic/pop-style music. Free version has limited downloads.

  • AIVA: Specializes in classical/orchestral music generation. Free users must credit AIVA for the generated music.

  • Soundful: Generates background music with limited monthly downloads in the free tier.

2. Backing Track/Chord Generation

  • Amper Music (now part of Shutterstock Audio): Requires registration. AI-generated backing tracks for vocals or instruments.

  • LANDR: Offers AI mastering and backing track generation with limited free features.

  • ChordChord: AI-powered chord progression generator for songwriting.

3. Melody/Snippet Generation

  • Magenta Studio (by Google): Open-source tool for generating melodies and drum patterns. Requires integration with a DAW (e.g., Ableton Live).

  • Ecrett Music

4. Open-Source/Developer Tools

  • MuseNet (by OpenAI): Generates multi-genre music. Requires technical knowledge to use the API (not user-friendly).

  • Riffusion: Generates short music clips from text prompts, based on Stable Diffusion.

5. Other Tools

  • 网易天音（Chinese interface)：网易天音是一款能帮助用户轻松开启音乐创作之路的AI音乐工具，提供自动编曲、自动伴奏等功能，适合零基础和商业场景。登录或注册网易天音平台，选择相应功能，输入要求，即可完成创作。

  • Suno AI: Suno AI offers a free tier with basic features, allowing users to explore its music-generation capabilities at no cost. However, advanced features, higher-quality outputs, and increased usage limits may require a paid subscription.

  • Splash Pro (by former Jukedeck team): AI-generated music for short videos. Free version includes watermarks.

  • Mubert: AI-generated electronic music. Free version requires attribution.

Other Resources

           

Below is a collection of prompts that will be kept updated. If some of the websites are not accessible, please turn on your personal VPN to visit the sites.

Prompt Engineering

from bilibili

AI Tools for Legal Research

Overview

CoCounsel Core and CoCounsel Drafting are AI-powered legal research and drafting tools designed to enhance efficiency and accuracy in legal practice. These products integrate cutting-edge artificial intelligence with Westlaw’s extensive legal database, providing lawyers and legal professionals with powerful tools to streamline research, analysis, and document drafting.

CoCounsel Core

  • AI-powered legal research assistant – quickly finds, analyzes, and summarizes legal information.
  • Time-saving research – reduces the effort needed for case law and statutory research.
  • AI-generated summaries – extracts key insights from legal sources for informed decision-making.
  • Reliable and accurate – leverages Westlaw’s database for high-quality results.

CoCounsel Drafting

  • AI-assisted legal drafting – helps create, review, and refine legal documents.
  • Smart suggestions – improves clarity, consistency, and legal compliance.
  • Time efficiency – speeds up the drafting process for contracts, pleadings, and more.
  • Quality assurance – ensures documents meet relevant legal standards.

Access for STL Students & Faculty

STL students and faculty can access Cocounsel by logging into Westlaw and selecting CoCounsel products from the top menu.

Additional Resources

Credit: Mabie Law Library, UC Davis School of Law

Overview

Lexis+ AI is an AI-enabled legal research and drafting platform developed by LexisNexis and embedded into Lexis+. It integrates generative artificial intelligence with Lexis's repository of legal information to assist users in conducting research, drafting documents, and analyzing legal information.

Capabilities

  • Conversational search
  • Legal document drafting
  • Summarization of legal texts
  • Document upload and analysis

Availability

Lexis+ AI launched commercially in the U.S. on October 25, 2023, and became available to ABA-accredited law schools in December 2023.

Protégé AI Assistant

Protégé is a personalized AI assistant within Lexis+ AI. It offers conversational search, summarization, legal drafting, and document upload and analysis capabilities. Protégé was introduced in a commercial preview in August 2024 and became available to law students in February 2025.

Additional Resources

  • The Lexis+ AI Practice Page provides FAQs and video tutorials.
  • A law librarian’s critique examines the strengths and limitations of the "ask a legal question" feature.

On January 14, 2025, Bloomberg Law launched two generative AI tools:

Bloomberg Law Answers integrates with Bloomberg Law Search to provide AI-generated responses to legal questions. The answers, which appear at the top of search results, include citations and links to Bloomberg Law's primary and secondary resources.

Bloomberg Law AI Assistant is chat-based tool designed to generate summaries of documents and answer user queries about specific aspects of a document. 

Both features are integrated into the Bloomberg Law platform and are currently in beta. Ongoing refinement is expected.

Descrybe.ai is a free legal research platform that uses generative AI to search and summarize judicial opinions. It provides AI-generated summaries for over 3.6 million judicial opinions, including state appellate and supreme court decisions from all 50 states, as well as federal district, appellate, and supreme court opinions, including U.S. bankruptcy courts. The platform offers case summaries in English and Spanish, including simplified, plain-language versions at a fifth-grade reading level to increase accessibility. Users can perform natural language searches in either language. 

Descrybe.ai is currently developing additional free and paid features on top of its proprietary dataset, including a citation-checking feature. 

LawDroid Copilot is a generative AI legal assistant that automates tasks such as legal research, document summarization, case briefing, drafting emails or letters, correcting grammar, brainstorming ideas, and translating text. LawDroid Copilot is not affiliated with Microsoft's Copilot.

midpage.ai uses generative AI to analyze and summarize legal information. Its features include case law summaries, legal precedent analysis, and Microsoft Word integration. In January 2025, the company announced a collaboration with Vanderbilt University's AI Law Lab to develop an AI-powered citator, expected to launch in February.

Vincent AI, developed by vLex, is a generative AI legal research tool designed to assist users in finding relevant materials across multiple jurisdictions and languages. It integrates with vLex’s database of over 850 million legal documents, including content from 17 jurisdictions such as Hong Kong, Italy, Peru, and Ecuador. Using large language models, Vincent AI supports tasks like case analysis, argument development, and multi-jurisdictional law comparisons.

vLex's Winter 2025 update introduced multi-modal capabilities, including the ability to process and analyze audio and video content. vLex also introduced Vincent Studio, a custom workflow builder allowing law firms and legal departments to create AI-powered legal research and automation tools using Vincent AI and vLex's legal data. 

The American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) recognized Vincent AI as the 2024 New Product of the Year, marking the first time a generative AI tool has received the New Product Award. Vincent AI’s pricing and accessibility limit its use in academic settings.

VitalLaw AI is a premium generative AI tool available in Wolters Kluwer’s VitalLaw legal research platform, which covers multiple practice areas, including antitrust, cybersecurity and privacy, energy and environment, health, intellectual property, securities, and tax. 

Wolters Kluwer provides resources to preview its VitalLaw AI features. The Using VitalLaw AI help section explains how the tool generates responses and links to sources. The help article VitalLaw AI includes screenshots of AI-generated answers and guidance on interacting with the AI assistant. Additionally, Writing Effective AI Prompts offers an introduction and best practices for crafting prompts to optimize results.